Michael DeForge Blog

BCGF

Posted in comics by michaeldeforge on November 25, 2011

I’ll be at the Brooklyn Comics and Graphics Festival this next week. Find me at the Koyama Press table!

I’m bringing Open Country #2 and Kid Mafia #1 there (and they’re already available for sale at The Beguiling, if you live in Toronto.) Thanks to Jesjit for printing OC for me.

Also launching at the show are some anthologies I’m in, including¬† Studygroup Magazine #1! Here’s a color test Zack made of one of my pages in it. I’m excited to see how the color combo looks in person.

The new issue of Smoke Signal is dropping there too, with a six page cyberpunk comic that Benjamin Marra wrote and I drew.¬† This was a weird one to work on, since I’ve never collaborated on a comic before. I was planning to take my time with it and experiment with my layouts and design choices, but after a deadline mix-up I actually ended up having to rush through the pages faster than I’ve ever rushed through something before. I’m happy I was able to crank them out, but a bit disappointed that I couldn’t have spent more time on them. Is it interesting when I write about process here? Am I over-thinking this? Is this too much of “how the sausage gets made?” In what other ways are comics like sausages? Remember to show your work.

Anyway, Marra’s script was pretty gnarly, and I hope I did it justice! I am thrilled I got to work with him on something.

Plus, the Electric Ant booth will have some freshly printed Thickness issues for sale at the Electric Ant booth, along with the new issue of Kus (co-edited by Ryan Sands,) Chameleon #2, and more.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dave said, on November 25, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Will Kid Mafia be up for sale online?

    • michaeldeforge said, on November 27, 2011 at 2:32 am

      yup! sometime in january, probably

      • dave said, on November 28, 2011 at 11:46 pm

        awesome.

  2. [...] The unstoppable Michael DeForge talks about comics he’s bringing to the BCGF: [...]

  3. [...] Michael DeForge showcases the four comics he’ll be debuting at this weekend’s BCGF, including a collaborative effort with Benjamin Marra! And lest you think he’s getting lazy [...]

  4. [...] (also, look for the Steven Cerio designed Wow Cool ad in this issue), DeForge himself will have two new digests available, Zack Soto’s anthology title Study Group Magazine #1 (also with DeForge!), and the [...]

  5. [...] DeForge also wants you to know that he’ll have two mini-comics at the show, King Trash and Open Country, and that the new [...]

  6. Sean T. Collins said, on December 4, 2011 at 2:10 am

    Can’t BELIEVE I missed Open Country #2! Shame, shame on me!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

